TAKE A WORD & SIMPLY PLAY

The essence of my blog is a word a day, take a word away have a play, insert it into a sentence, that you  will use on the day if you can,  or save it for another day but either way have a play!

Words are fun, words are cool

words are an amazing tool

sometimes make me drool

never use them to be cruel

lest you turn out to be a fool!

So starting a blog in April somewhat sidetracked me from my idea of what I wanted to do, what with the enormous challenge of producing a poem a day which of course  I did not always accomplish, having other worldly commitments too, it was exhausting fitting it all in, and navigating my way around which I’m getting better at I hope.

So  today I just opened my dictionary and decided to choose the word blindly and this was it:

MAXIMUM

MAXI-MUM    A long dress wearing mother of the late 60’s and early 70’s?

Who remembers the original Maxi-dress? It had a recent revival in the fashion industry and now it looks set to stay!

Maxi-mummy – My inner child’s response to what the word conjures up! I did warn you that I like to play with words!

Here’s the proper definition

max·i·mum

[mak-suh-muhm]  noun, plural max·i·mums, max·i·ma 

adjective

noun

1.

the greatest quantity or amount possible, assignable, allowable,etc.

2.

the highest amount, value, or degree attained or recorded.

3.

an upper limit allowed or allowable by law or regulation.

4.

Mathematics .

a.

Also called relative maximum, local maximum. the value of a function at a certain point in its domain, which is greater than or equal to the values at all other points in the immediate vicinity of the point. Compare absolute maximum.

b.

the point in the domain at which a maximum occurs.

adjective

5.

that is a maximum; greatest or highest possible or attained:maximum satisfaction; maximum temperature.

6.

pertaining to a maximum or maximums.

 

and for more fun and maximum effect let’s see if I can insert the obvious clip from you tube!

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBWf4k89eys

 

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/maximum

4 Comments

Filed under POETRY, WORD FOR THE DAY, WORDS

4 responses to “TAKE A WORD & SIMPLY PLAY

  1. Pingback: 5 Awesome Blogs You Should Visit and Why! | We Drink Because We're Poets

  2. you are so kind,Thank you I am Humbled:)

  3. Pingback: Word For Today | warrington-online.com

please reply